The Golden(ing) ChildREN

For those who would like to watch the growth of the Golden(ing) childREN

Food Swap April 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — babybellyblog @ 5:44 am

wow i know i’m really behind on the blog…so this happened the weekend before last…but…. we had a good old fashioned food swap at my house. The idea behind it is that everyone who is attending makes one dish large enough to give everyone else who is attending two servings. Show up with enough freezer containers to take home your servings home in and everyone swaps food. The “theme” if you will was healthy, easy, organic, local (if possible), and easily adaptable for kids. We only had 4 of us that could make it but it went really well and we’ve been enjoying some fabulous foods from our freezer the last week. I think we make this an every-other-month event. It’s a great way to fill your freezer, cut back on your nightly work and try some new recipes that you might never test out yourself.

I also took this time to change out most of my plastic tupperware for glass. I really like the glass stuff so far…I’m a little nervous setting in our freezer…but otherwise it makes it so easy to just defrost and pop in the microwave…no more transferring to a “safe” plate. I’m still using some plastic for storing my cut up veggies (i chop and dice all my veggies for the week on sunday to save time for dinner/lunch through the week) in the fridge for the week but the rest are finding happy little homes out in the garage with Greg’s bike parts.

The pix are of fiona and jackson playing in the kitchen…and fiona kicking back with a coke =) and her favorite friend of all Zoe-the-ottoman.

 

2 Responses to “Food Swap”

  1. Auntie Val Says:

    So THAT’S what happened to my Coke!

  2. smellie Says:

    i love the photos, and by the way, I plowed through my frozen dishes that week! Let’s do another one soon.


Leave a comment